Yale Cancer Center Annual Conclave Awards Presentation

The Yale Cancer Center held its annual Conclave Awards ceremony virtually on February 15 to celebrate scientific and caring achievements in 2021. Eric P. Winer, MD, director of Yale Cancer Center and chief medical officer of Smilow Cancer Hospital said hosted the event. Clinical and research awards included the Yale Cancer Center Lifetime Achievement Award, Ruth McCorkle Oncology Advanced Practice Provider Award, Class of ’61 Cancer Research Award, and several annual teaching, clinical, and scientific awards.

Nominations were reviewed by senior management at Yale Cancer Center and Smilow Cancer Hospital and selected in recognition of their outstanding contribution to cancer care and research. The Conclave 2021 winners are:

The award is given annually to a YCC member who has made an impact on the field of oncology nationally and internationally. Edelson served as chairman of the department of dermatology at Yale School Medicine for 36 years, the longest serving chair in Yale’s history, and from 2003 to 2008 Edelson served as director of the Yale Cancer Center. A leader in immunobiology, Edelson described and named cutaneous T-cell lymphoma and later devised Etracorporeal photochemotherapy, which became the first immunotherapy approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for any Cancer.

Stern is a professor of pathology and associate director of the Cancer Center for Shared Resources, and Bhatia is an assistant professor of medicine (medical oncology). Both were recognized as a faculty member who best exemplifies a culture of teaching and excellence and who ensures that trainees acquire the skills they need to develop as practitioners, scientists and researchers. exceptional health.

Lee is an Associate Professor of Medicine (Hematology) and Director of the Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program. Colleagues have described Lee as “one of the most sought-after specialists in classical hematology, a stellar teacher, mentor, and educational innovator.”

Podoltsev is an associate professor of medicine (hematology) and his colleagues have described him as magnanimous, kind, brilliant and a “triple threat” in medicine. They also call Podoltsev a legendary educator with a depth of knowledge and a willingness to share, but a clinician whose “true heart of his work lies in his dedication to his patients.” Moliterno is an associate professor of neurosurgery and clinical director of the Chênevert Family Brain Tumor Center. She has been recognized for her technical genius, dexterity and speed during surgery, with a focus on optimal outcomes for her patients, while taking a holistic, thoughtful and compassionate approach to patient care.

  • Yale Cancer Center Award for Leadership in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Faye Rogers, Ph.D.

Rogers is an Associate Professor of Therapeutic Radiology and Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. She has distinguished herself through her scientific achievements, her commitment to improving the culture and basic sciences at Yale, and supporting trainees from backgrounds traditionally underrepresented in biomedicine.

Fan is a professor of biomedical engineering and pathology, and Guo is an associate professor of cell biology. They were honored for their significant achievements in cancer research as young faculty members, coupled with the expectation of future outstanding contributions to the causes of cancer and the development of new cancer treatments.

  • Ruth McCorkle Award for Provider of Advanced Practice in Oncology: Carol Staugaard, APRN-BC

The award is given annually to recognize the contributions of advanced practice providers to oncology patient care. Staugaard has cared for patients since 1982 and has placed patients with gastrointestinal (GI) cancers and their families at the forefront of her work since 2002, when she joined the Yale GI Medical Oncology team. Her colleagues described her as “compassionate, nurturing, stellar, calm and a voice of reason, and the unwavering backbone of the nursing team”.

Claus is a professor of biostatistics. She received her award for her work on the study “Environmental and sex-specific molecular signatures of glioma causation”, published in the Journal of Neuro-Oncology.

  • Yale Cancer Center Translational Scientific Research Award: Faye Rogers, PhD Rogers is an associate professor of therapeutic radiology. She was honored for her article in the journal Natural biotechnology“Direct targeting of amplified gene loci for pro-apoptotic cancer therapy.”
  • Yale Cancer Center Clinical Science Research Award: Lajos Pusztai, MD, DPhil Pusztai is Professor of Medicine (Medical Oncology). He was honored for his publication in the journal cancer cell“Durvalumab with olaparib and paclitaxel for high-risk HER2-negative stage II/III breast cancer: results from the I-SPY2 adaptive randomized trial.”
  • Yale Cancer Center Basic Science Research Award: Marcus Bosenberg, MD, PhD and Qin Yan, PhD Bosenberg is professor of pathology, dermatology and immunology and director of the Yale Center for Immuno-Oncology. Yan is an associate professor of pathology. Both were honored for their publication in the journal Nature“KDM5B promotes immune evasion by recruiting SETDB1 to silence retroelements.”

A full list of past Conclave winners can be found here at: https://www.yalecancercenter.org/research/excellence/awards/conclave/

About Hector Hedgepeth

Check Also

New study challenges widely held beliefs about Alzheimer’s disease

A new study challenges the dogma behind drug trials for Alzheimer’s disease. The study found …