Members of the Faculty of Medicine appointed to the Order of British Columbia

Members of the Faculty of Medicine Bonnie Henry, Poul Sorensen, Debra Braithwaite and James McEwen have been appointed to the Order of British Columbia.

Dr Bonnie Henry

They are among the sixteen exceptional people appointed to the Order, the highest form of recognition in the Province.

Dr Bonnie Henry is Associate Clinical Professor in the School of Population and Public Health and Provincial Health Officer of British Columbia. Dr Poul Sorensen is Professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and Director of the Academy of Translational Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine. Dr Debra Braithwaite is a Clinical Instructor in the Department of Family Medicine. James McEwen is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Orthopedics and the School of Biomedical Engineering.

“As the representative of the Crown in British Columbia and Chancellor of the Order of British Columbia, I am delighted to welcome 16 new members to the Order,” Lieutenant Governor Janet Austin said in a statement. . “Their extraordinary leadership has been a source of strength for communities across the province. In difficult times, they connected us through art, culture, public service and more. As we move forward with optimism into the future, their achievements will be the foundation of success for future generations. It is with great honor that I congratulate these remarkable people.

Dr Poul Sorensen

Dr Poul Sorensen

This year, 257 British Columbians were nominated. Since its inception, 475 British Columbians have been appointed to the Order of Members of BC have been appointed in all regions of the province and in numbers generally proportional to the population of a region.

“Each of this year’s recipients of the Order of British Columbia has made enormous contributions to their community,” Premier John Horgan said in a statement. “I want to congratulate and honor them for their leadership and dedication as community leaders. Pioneers of medicine, who took us through an incredibly difficult pandemic with expertise, grace and of course, kindness. Inspirational philanthropists, determined conservationists and powerful Indigenous leaders. We are all truly grateful for your leadership.

James McEwen

The province has received over 6,200 public appointments for the Order of British Columbia over the past 32 years. The 16 appointees were selected by an independent advisory board.

The Order of British Columbia investiture ceremony for 2020 and 2021 recipients and guests is tentatively scheduled to be held at Government House in Victoria in December 2021.

Read the full press release here:

About Hector Hedgepeth

Check Also

UC Davis Health opens new center focused on musculoskeletal research

(SACRAMENTO) UC Davis Health officially opened its new Lawrence J. Ellison Oak Park Musculoskeletal Research …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.