KU confers 56 doctorates and 82 MPhil diplomas

The Council for Advanced Studies and Research of the University of Karachi The University of Karachi announced on Friday that it has awarded 56 doctorates, 82 MPhil and nine master’s degrees, including seven degrees obtained through courses in various disciplines .

Registrar Prof Dr Abdul Waheed said the ASRB, at its recent meeting chaired by Iraqi Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Khalid Mahmood, awarded the diplomas.

According to the registrar, MPhil degrees were awarded to Mahrukh Farooq and Syed Amir Qamar in space and planetary astrophysics, Amir Murtaza and Kunwer M. Asif were awarded MPhil degrees from the Women’s Studies Center, Syeda Hina Zaidi, Syeda Zainab, Najaf Farooq and Javeria M Rafiq Sheikh received diplomas from MPhil from the Pharmaceutis department.

Likewise, Farooq Azam graduated in Political Science, Hira Ahmed Malik and Saira Erum Ejaz in Pharmacology, Shumila Ameer in Islamic History, Sheema Kermani and Nazli Saiyid in History, Urooj Suhail in Geography, Jamshed Sultan Awan, Abdul Qayoom and Anees- ul-Rahman in Usool-ud-din, Qasim Karim in Koran & Sunnah, Muhammad Atif, Bushra, Jawad ur Rehman, Salman Ali, Fariha Shamim, Hayat Wali, Ayesha Ashfaq and Jawad Ullah in chemistry, Noor Ul Ain Khawaja in international relations, Nawaz Khan, Safia Dost Muhammad, Aisha Jahangir and Syeda Sadia Ahmad in psychology.

In addition, Shela Noor and Mr. Asad Mahmood Khan completed their Masters research in Islamic Learning, Rutaba Khan, Sawera Naser and Ahmad Ali in Clinical Psychology, Maria Ahsan, Remal Mansoor and Umer Abdullah in Food Science and Technology, Fayzan Ahmed and Majid Iqbal in Physics, Syed Waleed Ahmed Bokhari in Pharmacognosy, Hadiya Hassan and Humna Khan in Biochemistry, Sana Rasheed and Uzma in Mathematics, Taba Rauf in Plant Conservation, Shabana Bano Ansari, Samina, Uzma Imdad and Habib Ul Hassan in Zoology, Alishba Pasha and Aisha Iqbal graduated MPhil from Karachi University Business School. Other students who received master’s degrees include Aasma Khan, Saba, Sehrish Hafeez, Tahira Saleem, Shar Bano and Sana Iqbal from chemistry, Farah Atiq and Marium Ishaque from applied economics, Syeda Abiha Zehra Jaffari from biochemistry , Dr Shabir Ahmed and Dr Mohammad Irfan from physiology, Javeria Shakil and Kashif Ghani from mass communication, Halima, Saira Sultana, Khadija and Umaiya Abdali from biotechnology, Komail Abbas and Aemon from computer science, Sadia Noureen from Genetics, Bibi Ayesha from Marine Biology, Kiran Mahar from Environmental Studies, Fiza Majeed from Biotechnology, Bashir Ahmed from Nematology, Fouzia Rehman from Special Education, Rahib from Islamic Studies with Computer Science, Ammad Ahmed from Geology and Dr Marvi Umair of pathology.

The KU ASRB awarded doctorates to Muhammad Raza, Mahmood Hassan and Wajid Mehmood from the Islamic Learning Department, Maha-e-Darakshan, Shafaq Siddiqui and Sarah Alam from the Mass Communication Department, Durriya Hashmat in Pharmacy, Sadia , Nuzhat Shehla, Mahwish Siddiqui, Farhana Batool and Syeda Uroosa Hashmi from the Department of Chemistry, Ariba Naz from the Department of Genetics, Ghaus Uddin, Asim Ali Khan and Sajjad Ahmed in Quran & Sunnah, Zaheer Shah and Amtul Mujeeb from the Department of Botany.

Likewise, Aqsa Azmat received his doctorate in geography, Saba Nasra in Islamic studies, Muhammad Talat and Sohail Ahmed in education, Mr. Shamim Akhtar in Usool-ud-Din, Manzoor Hussain Memon and Minhaj Uddin Siddiqui in applied economics, Nasir Mehmood in Nematology, Fizza Batool in International Relations, Dr Abida Shaheen and Dr Fahad Azam in Pharmacology, Ishrat Jahan in Botany, Ahsaan Ahmed in Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Erum Riaz in Clinical Psychology, Karan Singh, Ali Ahmed Baig and Bilqees in Urdu, Noor Fatima Siddiqui in Mathematics, Kinza Farooq, M. Naseem Akhtar and Maleeha Sahar in social work, Mumtaz Hussain, Bakht Bano, Farhan Naseer, Irshad Begum, Nasreen Begum and Asher Benjamin in chemistry, Muhammad Rafique, Mansoor Ahmed and Ahmed Hussain in Sindraib), Qnadeel La in microbiology, Wafa Binet-e-Ali in biochemistry, Waqas Ahmed Farooqi and Sidra Ghayas in statistics and Mussarat Jabeen in feminist studies.

About Hector Hedgepeth

Check Also

Study investigates cause of lymphopenia as seen in COVID-19 patients

In a recent study published on Research Square* preprint server, researchers explored the underlying mechanism …