Dr Connie Eaves elected to the prestigious Royal Society

Dr Connie Eaves, a professor in the Department of Medical Genetics at the Faculty of Medicine and the School of Biomedical Engineering, joins the ranks of other top scientists including Stephen Hawking, Albert Einstein and Charles Darwin.

Dr. Eaves, also a distinguished scientist in the Terry Fox Laboratory of BC Cancer, received another prestigious honor. On May 6, the Royal Society of the United Kingdom announced its 2021 list of fellows and overseas members. Dr Eaves becomes one of 52 Fellows elected from institutions in the UK, Commonwealth and around the world.

The Royal Society is a fellowship of many of the world’s foremost scientists and is the oldest scientific academy in continuing existence. Other inductees include Stephen Hawking, Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, and Albert Einstein, among others.

“Our new Fellows and Foreign Fellows are all at the forefront of their fields, from molecular genetics and cancer research to open tropical ecosystems and radar technology. It is an absolute pleasure and honor to welcome them with us ”
Sir Adrian Smith, President of the Royal Society

The Royal Society was founded in the 1660s with the intention of recognizing, promoting and supporting scientific excellence and encouraging the development and use of science for the benefit of mankind. He has played a role in some of the most fundamental, important and revolutionary discoveries in scientific history and scientists at the Royal Society continue to make exceptional contributions to science in many fields of research.

Dr. Connie Eaves is recognized for her development of robust functional methods to quantify and characterize different types of primitive blood and breast cell precursors – now considered gold standards. Their use has led to many discoveries, including Dr. Eaves’ first demonstration of resting malignant stem cells from studies in patients with chronic myelogenous leukemia. Currently, his group is exploiting new methods of prospective analysis of the development process of human leukemia and breast cancer from genetically modified normal human cells.

Dr Eaves is already a member of the Royal Societies of Canada (1994) and Edinburgh (2015), and has received numerous other awards, including the Noble and Chew-Wei Awards for Cancer Research, the Rowley Award for CML International Foundation of Hematology’s Stratton Lifetime Achievement and E Donnall Thomas Awards, and the 2019 Gairdner-Wightman Award. In 2018, she was inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame and in 2019 she was named one of the Châtelaine Women of the Year. This month, she also received an honorary doctorate from Acadia University and named a UBC University Fellow.

A version of this story originally appeared on the BC Cancer website.

About Hector Hedgepeth

Check Also

PLU Biology Professor Amy Siegesmund Receives National Teaching Award | New

“In addition to being a great instructor for our students, Amy inspires better teaching in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.