College of American Pathologists Honors 31 Fellows / Residents at CAP21 Annual Meeting

News and research before you hear about it on CNBC et al. Claim your 1-week free trial for StreetInsider Premium here.

W. Stephen Black-Schaffer, MD, FCAP named Pathologist of the Year

CHICAGO – (BUSINESS WIRE) – The College of American Pathologists (CAP), the world’s largest organization for physicians who diagnose and study disease, recognized several of its members for their contributions to pathology and medicine lab at CAP21 “Advancing Medicine Today Tomorrow.” Meeting attendees had the option to attend virtually or in person at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago, Illinois, September 25-28, 2021.

In recognition of his long and distinguished career in pathology, the CAP named W. Stephen Black-Schaffer, MD, FCAP, with the Pathologist of the Year award. Dr. Black-Schaffer has served on numerous committees, boards and working groups during his 30 years as a member of the CPA. He currently chairs the Policy Roundtable’s Policy Roundtable Graduates Workforce and Medical Education Working Group and the Economic Affairs Committee (EAC).

“There is no shortage of pathologists whose accomplishments are distinguished in fields ranging from basic science to public health,” says Dr. Black-Schaffer. “I am grateful to be honored, and I want to thank you, not only for the award, but more for allowing me to find friends among colleagues across the country and make policy changes. and public practices, none that would have been possible without the College to bring its members together, and the staff of the College to educate and hold us accountable.

Throughout his career, he has assumed local and national leadership roles while actively engaging in education and advocacy, both central to pathology. He was a member of the first pathology project teams of the Accreditation Council for Higher Medical Education (ACGME), providing an essential roadmap for pathology training. He chaired the American Society of Cytopathology Working Group on Cytopathology Qualifications for Pathology Residency Programs.

As an advocacy leader, he has been the Massachusetts representative on its Regional Medicare Entrepreneurs Advisory Committee since 1992. As President of the EAC, he has effectively articulated the importance of equitable reimbursement of medical conditions to patients. federal regulatory authorities, Congressional staff, and medical directors of private payers.

Dr Black-Schaffer is currently Associate Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School, and Deputy Head of Pathology and Director of the Pathology Residency Program at Massachusetts General Hospital.

In addition to the Pathologist of the Year award, the CAP recognized 30 other members / residents for their contributions, achievements and service in a multitude of areas including, but not limited to, advocacy, patient care, education, quality improvement programs and communications. .

The CAP annually honors its members for their commitment to the specialty and quality of patient care. This year’s winners are:

CAP Lawyer of the Year Award

CAP Distinguished Patient Care Award

  • Mary E. Fowkes, MD, Ph.D., FCAP

CAP Award for Distinguished Service

  • Rajesh C. Dash, MD, FCAP

  • Eva M. Wojcik, MD, FCAP

CPA Laboratory Accreditation Program Service Award

  • Grégory A. Gagnon, MD, FCAP

CPA Laboratory Improvement Programs Service Award

  • Christina M. Wojewoda, MD, FCAP

  • Daniel D. Rhoads, MD, FCAP

CAP prize for all achievements

  • David N. Alter, MD, DABCC, FCAP

  • Christine N. Booth, MD, FCAP

  • Andrew J. Evans, MD, Ph.D., FRCPC, FCAP

  • David A. Novis, MD, FCAP

  • John D. Olson, MD, Ph.D., FCAP

  • R. Ross Reichard, MD, FCAP

CAP Outstanding Communicator Award

  • Valerie A. Fitzhugh, MD, FCAP

CAP Exceptional Educator Award

  • Robert D. Hoffman, MD, PhD, FCAP

CAP Award for Exceptional Service

CAP prize for the advancement of pathology

  • David F. Keren, MD, FCAP

  • Mark S. Synovec, MD, FCAP

  • Kamran M. Mirza, MD, PhD, FCAP

  • Cullen M. Lilley, MS

  • Christina A. Arnold, MD, FCAP

  • Michael A. Arnold, MD, Ph.D., FCAP

  • Adam L. Booth, MD

  • Jerad M. Gardner, MD, FCAP

  • Xiaoyin “Sara” Jiang, MD, FCAP

  • Sanam Loghavi, MD, FCAP

CAP Public Service Award

CPA Resident Lawyer Award

  • Nicole D. Riddle, MD, FCAP

CAP Resident of the Year Award

  • Mariam Anwar Molani, DO, MBA

CAP Staff Award of Excellence

  • Mary F. Kennedy, MPH, CT (ASCP)

About the College of American Pathologists

As the world’s largest organization of board-certified pathologists and a leading provider of laboratory accreditation and proficiency testing programs, the College of American Pathologists (CAP) serves patients, pathologists and the public by encouraging and advocating excellence in the practice of pathology and laboratory medicine. worldwide. For more information, read the CAP annual report.

Catherine Dolf, Senior Director, CAP Media Relations, 847-832-7472, [email protected]

Abby Watson, Manager, CAP Communications, 847-832-7513, [email protected]

Source: College of American Pathologists

About Hector Hedgepeth

Check Also

Oxford BioDynamics Checkpoint Inhibitor Response Test (EpiSwitch® CiRT) Now Available in the UK

Oxford BioDynamics Plc (AIM: OBD, the Company), a biotechnology company developing precision medicine tests for …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.